Progressive Young Liberals


During the period from 1964 to 1966, Philip Smith (Later Member for North End Long Island, Rum Cay and San Salvador), Robert Lightbourne, Reuben Cooper Jr. and Donald McCartney were responsible for the formation of the Bahamas Youth for Positive Action (BYPA). The BYPA was the forerunner of the Progressive Young Liberals. Contrary to popular belief the Progressive Liberal Party has always had a youth arm and was the first party to do so.

Since its inception in the 1970′s, the Progressive Young Liberals (PYL) has been at the forefront of representing the Bahamian youth and the PLP.

During the late 1970’s, under the leadership of the Party Chairman Andrew Dud Maynard, the mandate to re-organize the official youth arm of the Progressive Liberal Party was called for and a committee was appointed to carry out this request,

The Progressive Young Liberals is an organization intended to foster the civic, social and political awareness in the young people of our Party and of our nation.

Throughout its existence, the PLP has not only fostered the continual development of young people within the Party, but has contributed from its ranks dynamic nation-builders who have laid the way for many notable national leaders. Young people have always been and still are the driving force behind our great Party.

Currently Officers of the Progressive Young Liberals

Andre Kelly – Chairman

Neressa Seymour – 1st Vice Chairman

Nacara Poitier – 2nd Vice Chairman

Chenika Simms – Secretary

Lakelle Ferguson – Treasurer

Anthony Gibson – PR Officer

Andre Moncur – NGC Member

Nikita Smith – NGC Member

Whitney Hanna – NGC Member

Van Whylly – Chaplain